Archive for July, 2007

It’s still a triangular contest for Vice President

A triangular contest was on the cards for the vice presidential election Aug 10 as the three candidates who were cleared following the scrutiny of papers remained in the fray Thursday, the last day for withdrawing nominations. The ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA), along with the Left Front and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and […]

Pratibha Patil sworn in as President

Pratibha Patil has become the country’s first woman President. She was administered the oath of office by Chief Justice of India K G Balakrishnan at a function in the Central Hall of Parliament House on Wednesday. Pratibha Patil was today sworn in as the country’s first woman President. She was administered the oath of office […]

Woman Among Three In Race To Be India’s Vice-president

Three Muslim candidates, one of them a woman, are to vie for the post of vice-president of India next month after Indian lawmakers voted in the country’s first woman president on Saturday. One of them is former career diplomat Hamid Ansari, 65, nominated by the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) and its Left allies. Another […]

Three Muslim candidates in fray for Indian vice president’s post

Three candidates, all Muslims, have filed their nominations for the Indian vice-presidential elections to be held in August, the Election Commission said Monday. Mohammed Hameed Ansari, 65, has been nominated by the ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA) and is the choice of its leftist partners, who provide key support to the alliance in Parliament. Ansari, […]

MPs give Kalam warm send-off

Recognising his strong commitment to the country’s defence programme and his vision of making India a developed nation by 2020, members of Parliament on Monday gave President A P J Abdul Kalam a warm send-off at the end of his five-year term. “The story of your journey from a tiny hamlet in Rameshwaram to Rashtrapati […]

India names its first female president

UPA-Left nominee Pratibha Patil on Saturday won the Presidential election by a huge three lakh margin defeating NDA-backed independent candidate Bhairon Singh Shekhawat to become the first woman Head of State in a bitterly-contested poll that saw some cross voting from BJP. In the final count, Patil got a vote value of 6,38,116 while Shekhawat […]

Masood files papers for Vice-President

Despite speculation about fissures within the United National Progressive Alliance, the newly-formed coalition took a lead on Friday in filing the nomination papers of its Vice-Presidential nominee, Rasheed Masood. The election is scheduled to be held on August 10. A Samajwadi Party MP from Saharanpur, Mr. Masood (60) filed his nomination here in the presence […]

UPA-Left names Ansari for Vice-President

The former diplomat, Mohammad Hamid Ansari, was on Friday unanimously declared the United Progressive Alliance-Left candidate for the August 10 Vice-Presidential election. The name of Mr. Ansari, Chairman of the National Minorities Commission, was announced by UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi at a meeting of the UPA-Left Coordination Committee here. Over the last two days, Communist […]

How India’s presidency works

India holds an election for a new president on Thursday. Here are some key facts about the office. * The president is elected to a five-year term by an electoral college consisting of members of both the houses of parliament and the state legislative assemblies. The winner of Thursday’s vote will be announced on Saturday. […]