Archive for August, 2009

DUSU Elections : Five candidates axed

With the candidature of NSUI and ABVP members for the post of the DUSU president being cancelled on Friday, for the first time since 1991 it looks like the union will have a non-NSUI, non-ABVP president. This could also be true for the post of joint secretary if Rahul Mathur of NSUI, who was served […]

DUSU Elections : Website for DUSU polls

The Delhi University (DU) authorities are launching a website to enable the candidates contesting for DUSU elections as well as the college students union polls to put across their views. The candidates can upload their propaganda on the website to be hosted by the DU Computer Centre. Besides the website, candidates will also be allotted […]

DUSU Elections would be held on September 4

The Delhi University Students’ Union election would be held on September 4 between 8.30 am and 12.30 pm for day classes, and 3 to 7 pm for evening classes. The last date for filling of nominations is August 25. On the same day, there will be scrutiny of nomination papers and the deadline for the […]

Delhi Elections : Bypoll for Dwarka Assembly on September 10

Dwarka, the lone seat in Delhi that is going to the Assembly bypolls. The election will be held in this west Delhi seat on September 10. Dwarka has become a coveted pocket and is being eyed by candidates representing various communities, including Poorvanchalis, Jats and Punjabis. Among the frontrunners for ticket are the son and […]

Delhi Elections : Okhla is back in election mode

Barely two months after dust around the Lok Sabha elections settled down, Okhla is back in  election mode. The area is counting numbers, discussing the Batla House encounter, and speculating political moves. While sitting Congress MLA Parvez Hashmi filed his nomination papers for Rajya Sabha seat vacated by J P Aggarwal, the race to replace […]

Delhi Elections : Parvez Hashmi files nomination for Rajya Sabha

Congress nominee for Rajya Sabha from Delhi Parvez Hashmi filed his nomination papers. The seat fell vacant after sitting Rajya Sabha MP JP Agarwal was elected to Lok Sabha. Hashmi, who is an MLA and a former Delhi Minister, was accompanied by party MPs from Delhi including Agarwal and entire Delhi Cabinet led by Chief […]