Archive for September, 2009

RJD’s Asif Mohammad Khan and BJP’s Pardymn Rajput wins Okhla and Dwarka seats respectively

The Congress Thursday lost two seats in the Delhi by-elections with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) winning one seat each. While BJP’s candidate Pardymn Rajput defeated Congress’ Tilotma Chaudhary in Dwarka, RJD’s Asif Mohhamed Khan trumped the Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Braham Singh in Okhla. Elections in Dwarka were […]

Delhi Elections : Only 35% Polling in Okhla bypoll

Polling in the Assembly bypoll for the Okhla constituency began on a low turn out. And it stayed that way till the end. While the first hour saw a 6.61-per cent turnout, it reached 24.39 per cent by afternoon, before settling at 35.8 per cent by 5 pm when polling drew to a close. Candidates […]

Congress face a challenge in retaining the Okhla Seat

Congress could face a challenge in retaining the Okhla Assembly seat as two Gujjar candidates, including one of its rebels, are likely to change the caste equations in the Muslim-dominated constituency which goes to bypolls on Tuesday. NCP nominee Rambir Singh Bidhuri, a former Congress leader, and BSP’s Brahma Singh Bidhuri have the potential to […]

Candidates List for Dwarka and Okhla Assembly bypolls

By-election to Dwarka and Okhla assembly constituencies in the national capital will be be held respectively on  September 10 and September 15. The two segments fell vacant after their respective MLAs Mahabal Mishra (Dwarka) and Parvez Hashmi (Okhla) were elected to the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha recently. Candidates List for Dwarka Assembly bypolls […]

DUSU Elections : Independent candidate elected DUSU president

Manoj Chaudhury of Department of Buddhist Studies won the president’s post while ABVP’s Kirti Vadhera (Miranda House) bagged the Vice President’s post. Manoj Choudhary, in the end, had only an 11-vote advantage over his classmate from the Department of Buddhist Studies Bajinder Singh. The second-placed All India Students’ Federation (AISF) candidate got 5,380 votes. Kirti […]

DUSU elections begins on dull note

Voting to decide the fate of 29 candidates for the four Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) posts began on a dull note this morning.Then there are the college representatives. Over 60 colleges of the university participate in the DUSU elections. The polling for the colleges where classes are held in the mornings started at 8.30 […]

DUSU Elections : HC dismisses plea of disqualified DUSU candidates

A plea filed by five disqualified Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) poll candidates from National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) and Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) was dismissed by the Delhi High Court on Tuesday. Stating that the chief election officer had taken the decision in accordance with the rules, justice Sanjeev Khanna rejected the […]

DUSU Elections : Disqualified DUSU poll candidates move HC against DU

National Students Union of India (NSUI) and Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) candidates moved the Delhi high court on Monday, challenging their disqualification from the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections. Candidates for the president’s post Deepak Negi (NSUI) and Rohit Chahal (ABVP), NSUI’s vice-presidential candidate Umesh Tanwar, and ABVP’s Lalit Chaudhary and Ashok Khari, […]