Bhartiya Janata Party

Delhi Elections : BJP blasts Sheila Dikshit govt, promises cutback in power tariff

The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) on Sunday started its campaign in Delhi for the upcoming assembly polls by launching a major offensive against the Sheila Dikshit government and announced lowering of power tariff by 30 percent, if voted to power. At a big rally at the Ramlila ground here, BJP President Rajnath Singh announced that no […]

Delhi MCD elections 2012 : 12-15% voting in first three hours

Around 12 to 15 per cent voters turned up to exercise their franchise in the first three hours of polls to the trifurcated Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) on Sunday. The election to 272 seats is expected to witness a tough fight between the incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. Voting began at […]

BJP confident of good show in MCD Elections

The Bharatiya Janata Party will go into the Municipal Corporation of Delhi elections, due early next year, on the issues of corruption and price rise, while at the same time urge the people to vote for the party that will provide them the blueprint for best delivery in the health and education sectors. Elaborating the […]

BJP demands Sheila Dikshit’s resignation over 2010 CWG scam

After boycotting the launch of the Chandni Chowk makeover project, the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) hit the streets demanding Sheila Dikshit’s ouster on Friday. Marching from Civic Centre, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, MCD councillors sought a CBI probe to probe the CM’s role in the CWG scandal. Dressed in black, MCD councillors shouted slogans against […]

BJP activists demand Shiela Dikshit’s resignation

Scores of BJP activists led by party MP Navjot Singh Sidhu on Thursday courted arrest after a protest here demanding resignation of Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit. The protesters assembled at Jantar Mantar and demonstrated in front of Parliament Street where they raised slogans against Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Ms. […]

BJP to go alone in UP assembly polls

The BJP will have no alliance with the BSP, Samjwadi Party (SP) or Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), neither before nor after the 2012 UP assembly election. BJP national president Nitin Gadkari announced this in his inaugural speech at the party’s two-day national executive meet which began on Friday. The BJP chief’s announcement was […]

MCD election for top posts

The MCD will hold elections on May 16 for the post of Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Standing Committee, a key decision-making panel of the civic agency. The last date for filing nominations for the posts is May 9 while the names can be withdrawn at any time before the commencement of the election, officials […]

BSP leaders join BJP

Three BSP leaders, who had contested the last assembly elections in Delhi, today joined the BJP alongwith their supporters.Ved Prakash Maan, Lal Pradhan and O P Malhotra, who had contested the 2009 assembly polls on BSP tickets, joined the BJP in the presence of state party chief Vijender Gupta.

BJP sets up a election reforms committee

BJP chief Nitin Gadkari  announced the formation of a election reforms committee of the party, which will focus on issues like EVMs, criminalisation of politics and other concerns. Party vice-president Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi will be the convenor of the committee. “This committee will look into all issues regarding electoral reforms. These will be conveyed to […]