Other Election

Delhi RJD MLA Asif Mohammad Khan quits party in protest after Lalu criticises Anna

Former Bihar chief minister Lalu Yadav expressed reservations on Anna Hazare’s anti-corruption movement, a Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) member has quit the party in protest against the party supremo’s comment. Asif Mohammad Khan, currently RJD’s only member of Delhi’s Legislative Assembly, said he does not agree with Yadav’s comment against Hazare and has therefore decided […]

Right to reject candidates is a ticklish affair : Election Commission

The Election Commission on Monday termed as a “ticklish affair” the demand for the right to reject candidates in elections. “We have not applied our mind to it seriously, just heard about it here and there. It is going to be a ticklish affair,” Chief Election Commissioner S Y Quraishi said. He said the proposed […]

Leftists Loses JNU staff elections

After eight consecutive victories, leftists have lost the elections to the Jawaharlal Nehru staff association. The non-Left United Sangharsh Morcha swept the polls with the biggest margin on Thursday. Diwan Ram of USM defeated Vishnu Dutt of the Karmachari Democratic Front (KDF) to become the president. Ram polled 779 votes against Dutt’s 332, the biggest […]

Only Nine percent women among MLAs in five new assemblies

The recent assembly elections in five states in India did give the country two more women chief ministers but the gross representation of women in these assemblies is a dismal nine percent. According to a poll result analysis by Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), women legislators comprise just 72 of the 824 newly elected legislators […]

Varun Gandhi set to wed Bengali designer, Yamini Roy

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP and scion of the Nehru-Gandhi family Varun Gandhi is all set to tie the nuptial knot this year and among the guests to be invited are his aunt Sonia Gandhi and cousin Rahul Gandhi. The 30-year-old BJP national secretary and fiery orator will marry a Bengali girl, Yamini Roy, a […]

DUSU Elections on Sept 3

Elections to the Delhi University Students’ Union will take place on September 3. The last date of receipt of nomination papers is August 24 and the date of display of final list of candidates is August 26.

RJD’s Asif Mohammad Khan and BJP’s Pardymn Rajput wins Okhla and Dwarka seats respectively

The Congress Thursday lost two seats in the Delhi by-elections with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) winning one seat each. While BJP’s candidate Pardymn Rajput defeated Congress’ Tilotma Chaudhary in Dwarka, RJD’s Asif Mohhamed Khan trumped the Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Braham Singh in Okhla. Elections in Dwarka were […]

Delhi Elections : Only 35% Polling in Okhla bypoll

Polling in the Assembly bypoll for the Okhla constituency began on a low turn out. And it stayed that way till the end. While the first hour saw a 6.61-per cent turnout, it reached 24.39 per cent by afternoon, before settling at 35.8 per cent by 5 pm when polling drew to a close. Candidates […]

Candidates List for Dwarka and Okhla Assembly bypolls

By-election to Dwarka and Okhla assembly constituencies in the national capital will be be held respectively on  September 10 and September 15. The two segments fell vacant after their respective MLAs Mahabal Mishra (Dwarka) and Parvez Hashmi (Okhla) were elected to the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha recently. Candidates List for Dwarka Assembly bypolls […]