The election to the Office of the Vice President,  to be held on 10th of this month, is the thirteenth.  The earlier elections to this office were held in the years 1952, 1957 (both uncontested), 1962, 1967, 1969, 1974, 1979 (unopposed), 1984, 1987, 1992, 1997 and 2002.

Under the provisions of  Article 66(1) of Constitution of India, the Vice-President shall be elected by the members of an Electoral College consisting of Members of both the Houses of Parliament.

The nominated members of both the Houses of Parliament (2 from  Lok Sabha and 12 from Rajya Sabha) are also eligible to be included in the Electoral College along with the elected members of both the  Houses of Parliament.

The Members of Legislative Assemblies are not eligible to be included in the Electoral College for the Vice-Presidential election.

The  present strength of the Electoral College:

Rajya Sabha:

Elected              –           233

Nominated             –              12

Lok Sabha:

Elected              –           543

Nominated             –                2

TOTAL                          790

Under the provisions of Article 67, the Vice-President shall hold office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office and under the provisions of clause (c) of Article 67, the Vice-President shall, not withstanding the expiration of his term, continue to hold office until his successor enters upon his office.

No person shall be eligible for election as Vice-President unless he:

a)       is a citizen of India;

b)       has completed the age of 35 years; and

is qualified for election as a member of the Council of States (Article      66).

A person shall not be eligible for election as Vice-President if he holds any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any Local or other Authority subject to the control of any of said Governments.

However, a person shall not be deemed to hold any office of profit by reason only that he is the President or Vice-President of the Union or the Governor of any State or is a Minister either for the Union or for any State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *