Delhi Elections : Arti Mehra re elected as the mayor of Delhi

Arti Mehra was re-elected as the mayor of Delhi on Monday amid much fanfare. The board had said that those people holding posts last term should contest elections once again keeping the Assembly elections in mind.

Divya Jaiswal was also re-elected as deputy mayor. As the announcement to the effect was made Town Hall was drowned in loud music and Mehra and Jaiswal were covered with garlands and presented with bouquets.

Out of the 261 votes polled, Mehra won 177 whereas Razia Sultana from Congress got 82 votes. Jaiswal got 165 votes and Tulsi Ram Sablania from Congress got 68 votes out of the 235 votes polled. The elections were boycotted by BSP councillors. Member of Lok Sabha Sajjan Kumar, Vijay Kumar Malhotra, Jagdish Tytler, member of Rajya Sabha J P Aggarwal and MLAs Dr Harsh Vardhan, Ram Babu Sharma, Tajdar Babar, Amrish Singh Gautam etc were also present for the elections.

Vijender Gupta and Rajni Abbi from BJP and Jai Kishan Sharma from Congress were unanimously elected as members of the standing committee on Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *