BJP announces election committee for Delhi elections

Gearing up for the upcoming assembly polls in Delhi, the Bharatiya Janata Party Monday announced a 60 member election management committee. Senior BJP leader Vijay Kumar Malhotra has been appointed the chairman of the committee. Other senior party leaders including Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Shatrughan Sinha, Kidar Nath Sahani and Vijay Kapoor were appointed advisers and special invited members of the committee.

“We have started an effective strategy for the preparations of the forthcoming assembly and Lok Sabha elections,” BJP’s Delhi chief Harsh Vardhan told reporters.

“The process of selecting candidates for the assembly elections will be started soon and only those people would be given tickets who are committed to the policies and thinking of the BJP and are devoted,” he said.

The main criteria for the selection of the candidates will be the candidate’s capacity to win the election, popularity in the area and their track record.

Prominent Delhi BJP leaders like Mayor Arti Mehra, Vijay Goel, Anita Arya, Jagdish Mukhi, Lal Behari Tiwari, Meera Kanwaria, Subhash Arya and Vijender Gupta are members of the committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *