Delhi Elections : Delhi gets ready to vote for seven LS seats

The election campaign will come to an end on Tuesday at 5 p.m. in more places, ahead of Thursday’s Phase IV polling in 85 Lok Sabha constituencies in seven States and the National Capital Territory of Delhi. Political canvassing is at its peak, as less than 24 hours are left for the end of public campaign. One of the most important state that will go to polls on Thursday, is National Capital Delhi. Polling will be held in all seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi on May 7. The main battle will be between arch-rivals Congress and BJP. However, BSP may play a crucial role in some of the seats.

Union Ministers Kapil Sibal (Chandni Chowk), Ajay Maken (New Delhi) and Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president J.P. Agarwal (North-East Delhi) and Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit’s son Sandeep Dikshit (East Delhi) are in the ring. Mr. Ajay Maken’s (Congress) rival in the BJP is the former Union Minister, Vijay Goel.

In Delhi, BJP has been able to hold some advantage over the Congress, riding high on the personality of its Prime Ministerial candidate LK Advani, issue of terrorism, price rise, black money in Swiss Banks and confusion among the UPA allies. However, it is to be seen if the party can convert those responses into votes.

In an interesting development, BSP candidate Haji Dilshad has withdrawn his nomination in favour of the Congress candidate JP Aggarwal from North East Delhi. He has decided to campaign for the Congress candidate.

More Information about India Elections

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *